How to Block and Unblock Someone on Facebook without Them Knowing?

Peter William
time February 21, 2020 Preview 8.9K
share it facebook share it Twitter

I accidentally blocked someone on Facebook, and I do not have this person on my friends' list. How can I unblock him or her? -From Facebook Help Forum

As the world's most popular social media, Facebook has drawn much attention but also given rise to numerous problems. The annoying spammers, stalkers, competitors or bad guys may be peeping at every word and action that you left on Facebook. So at times, you have to take some measures to eliminate this obsession. Here let’s know how to block and unblock someone on Facebook.

How to Block Someone on Facebook?

You have two methods to block people on Facebook. The steps of them are both simple. You could finish the process less than a minute.

Method One: Block Some on Facebook by Private Setting​

  1. Log in to your Facebook account.
  2. Click the question mark icon at the upper-right of the Facebook page.
  3. Select the Privacy Shortcuts option from the drop-down box.how to block someone on facebook 01
  4. Click How do I stop someone from bothering me?
  5. Add the name or email address and then click the Block button to search.
  6. A list of names will pop up. Just find the one that you need to block on Facebook.how to block someone on facebook 02

If you can’t find the name that you want to block from the list, please turn to option two.

Method Two: Block Someone on Facebook from Their Profiles

  1. Search the one that you need to block on Facebook and go to their profile page.
  2. Click the three dots button on the lower right corner of the cover photo.
  3. Choose the Block option from the drop-down menu.how to block someone on facebook 03
  4. Finally, click the Confirm button to block this person on Facebook.how to block someone on facebook 04

Can You Block Someone on Facebook without Them Knowing?

Not 100%. If someone closely follows your account, they might eventually find out that you blocked him or her on Facebook. Since they can't view your posts, profile, etc., and can't contact you through chat or instant message.

What Happens When You Block Someone on Facebook?

When you block someone on Facebook, you will automatically unfriend and unfollow them. What’s more, you can’t start a conversation with the blocked ones. And they won’t be able to do the following operations:

  • View contents you post on your timeline
  • Tag you in posts (former tags will be removed), photos, or comments
  • Add you as a friend
  • Message you with Facebook Messenger
  • Invite you to events or groups
  • Find your profile in the Facebook search bar

How to Unblock Someone on Facebook?

Once you have unblocked someone on Facebook, the person will be able to see your feeds. However, the unblocked person won’t be your friend on Facebook anymore. You have to resend a friend request.

Method One: Unblock Someone on Facebook via the Question Mark Icon​

  1. Repeat the first four steps of blocking someone on Facebook method one.
  2. Click View All Blocked Users.how to unblock someone on facebook 01
  3. Click the Unblock button to remove people from the blocked list on Facebook.how to unblock someone on facebook 02

Method two: Unblock Someone on Facebook via the Inverted Triangle Icon​

  1. Click the inverted triangle icon on the top and then select Settings.
  2. Click Blocking in the left column.how to unblock someone on facebook 03
  3. You can find the people that you have blocked in the Block users section. And now you can unblock someone on Facebook freely. how to unblock someone on facebook 04

Can You Unblock Someone on Facebook without Them Knowing?

Not 100%. Suppose the users know that you blocked them, they may search you on Facebook. If your profile is one of the persons listed there, the users will know you have unblocked them.

What Happens When You Unblock Someone on Facebook?

  1. Once you unblock someone, the person will be able to see your profile, posts and contact you.
  2. If you were friends before, you should resend a friend request to the person that you have unblocked.
  3. You cannot block the same user again within 48 hours of unblocking.

How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on Facebook?

1. Search a person on Facebook. If you are unable to find his profile, then the person has blocked you or deactivated his account.

2. If you are not sure the person is blocking you or just deactivated his account, you can try to search his profile image. If it shows a placeholder picture, that means he deactivated his account.

3. Open the recent conversation you have had with that person. If you find these four features, then that person on Facebook has blocked you.

  • His name turns black.
  • You can’t click that person’s name to redirect to his Facebook page.
  • You can’t send messages to him anymore.

If there is no profile picture of that person as well, then undoubtedly, he deactivated his account on Facebook.

Bonus Tip: How to Block Facebook Website & Client Apps on Mac?

Cisdem AppCrypt is an innovative app for Mac. It helps you focus on works as well as helps your kids keep away from porn content by blocking sites & apps. The app has a slick interface and flexible shortcuts which make it easy to manage schedules, blacklists, whitelists, and settings.

Free Download

Steps to Block Facebook.com on Mac:

  • Step 1. Download, install and run AppCrypt on your Mac. For first-time users, you will need to set a password.set a password
  • Step 2. Click "WebBlock" in the upper right corner of the main interface.
  • Step 3. From the “Preference” window, click the "WebBlock" tab.
  • Step 4. Click the “+” button to add facebook.com to the blacklist.block Facebook website

Note: To unblock Facebook on Mac, just click “-“ to remove facebook.com from the blacklist.

Steps to Block Facebook Client Apps on Mac:

  • Step 1. On the main screen of AppCrypt, click “Add App” from the toolbar, and then choose the Facebook app from the “Application” folder.main interface
  • Step 2. (Optional) Navigate to “Menu” > “Preferences” > “Schedule”, and select days of the week and time of day to unblock app.schedule

Final Words

Blocking someone on Facebook can make your social media clear and keep offending individuals out of it. All the steps mentioned above are easy to perform you can block and unblock someone on Facebook with few clicks.

What if you want to block yourself from accessing your Facebook account? Since Facebook seriously disperses your attention on work and study. The most effective way I think is to block Facebook app and website on your device. Please try a Mac App Blocker. It saves me a lot of time.

avatar
Peter William
share it facebook share it Twitter

Peter has always had great enthusiasm for writing, programming and web development. He likes writing about software and technology, his works are featured on some tech blogs or forums like Tom's Hardware, CNET, etc.

share it facebook share it Twitter
Comments (0) Leave a Reply

Name *

Comment *

Hot Articles

No 7-Zip for Mac, But Here are 5 7-Zip Alternative Mac Top 8 Best Encryption Software for Mac (Big Sur Included) How to Lock Apps on iPhone and iPad: 5 Ways
Home > How to Block and Unblock Someone on Facebook without Them Knowing?